1-2 finishes for Hendrick Motorsports in the DAYTONA 500 – Hendrick Motorsports

2 minutes, 26 seconds Read

Follow us on social
DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – With William Byron and Alex Bowman’s 1-2 finish in the 2024 DAYTONA 500, Hendrick Motorsports swept the top-two spots in “The Great American Race” for the fourth time in team history. 
Byron’s win in Monday’s race was the first victory for the Rick Hendrick-owned team in the DAYTONA 500 since 2014. The organization’s nine wins in the event are tied for the most by one team (with Petty Enterprises) in NASCAR Cup Series history. 

“I’m in awe of how hard it is to win this race,” Hendrick said. “I’m just so happy for William (Byron), Rudy (Fugle, crew chief), the organization and to see Alex (Bowman) finish second. That was great.”

RELATED: Hendrick Motorsports celebrating its 40th anniversary
Let’s take a look back at the other 1-2 finishes in the DAYTONA 500 by Hendrick Motorsports drivers. 
Winner: Darrell Waltrip
Runner-up finisher: Ken Schrader
Notes: Schrader started from the pole and led a race-high 114 laps in the No. 25 Chevrolet, while Waltrip was in search of his first Harley J. Earl Trophy. Schrader lost the lead to Dale Earnhardt with 10 laps to go. However, Waltrip tracked down leader Alan Kulwicki to take the lead with four laps to go and the eventual victory. Waltrip got his elusive DAYTONA 500 win and did “The Ickey Shuffle” to celebrate. 

RELATED: See classic cars come to life at Hendrick Motorsports Museum
Winner: Jeff Gordon
Runner-up finisher: Terry Labonte
Notes: Gordon led 40 laps on the day, including the final six to win his first of three DAYTONA 500s. What makes this race even more notable is that it was the first time in team history that Hendrick Motorsports swept the top-three spots in a race. Gordon won, Labonte finished second and Ricky Craven grabbed third place. It is the only time that the organization has accomplished that in the DAYTONA 500 and it is only one of three times that the team has done that at any track in its history. 
Winner: Jimmie Johnson
Runner-up finisher: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Notes: Johnson led the final 10 laps (among his 17 circuits out front) to win his second DAYTONA 500. To do so, he had to hold off his teammate Earnhardt Jr. who was one of the best superspeedway racers ever. Johnson was able to do so and won the race by .129 seconds. Earnhardt Jr. would win the DAYTONA 500 the following year. 
Winner: William Byron
Runner-up finisher: Alex Bowman
Notes: Byron may have only led four laps in the race but they were the final four laps as he took the white flag just before a caution came out to end the race. The 26-year-old driver led the inside lane on the final restart and grabbed the lead. From there, he held off multiple hard chargers in the closing laps with Bowman finishing behind him in the final running order. 
PHOTOS: See scenes from Byron’s victory in the 2024 DAYTONA 500

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply